The National Cold War Center, located on Eaker Air Force Base (BAFB), will be recognized as a major tourist attraction in Arkansas that will provide an immersive and authoritative experience in informing, interpreting and honoring the legacy of the Cold War.

More About BAFB

  • Airplane

Our Mission

The National Cold War Center's mission is to educate and engage visitors in the profound history and global impact of the Cold War, fostering understanding through immersive experiences and tours of original U.S. Air Force facilities.

Development of Center

  • Progress

    The National Cold War Center gained great stature when it was recognized and officially designated by the State of Arkansas, and the museum continues to evolve with momentum. With over $6MM raised, the Center is initiating a major capital campaign in 2024.

  • Ready Alert Compound Restoration

    The Ready Alert facility, known as the “alert shack”, has been stabilized and is in a restoration phase. Grants from Arkansas Heritage and U.S. Scenic Byways contribute to the ongoing work of readying the Alert Compound for its role as an exhibit and exhibition hall in the National Cold War Center. An already popular attraction, the compound will open to the public when the National Cold War Center opens.

  • National Cold War Center Opening - 2027

    The National Cold War Center is targeting the late fall of 2027 as the opening date. Great things are coming!


NCWC Board of Directors

  • Mary Gay Shipley

    Chair, Founder, ret., That Bookstore in Blytheville

  • Barrett Harrison

    Vice Chair, CEO, Blytheville/Gosnell Regional Airport Authority

  • Elizabeth H. Smith

    Secretary, Executive Director, Mississippi County Regional Chamber of Commerce

  • Michael Jacques

    Treasurer, Regional Business Manager, Primetals Technologies, USA, LLC

  • Anes Abraham, M.D.

    Pediatrician, ret.

  • Chris Brown

    Exq., Walker & Nelson

  • Billy Curl

    Owner, Cobb Funeral Home

  • Seth Holifield

    State Farm Insurance Blytheville

  • Molly Jackson

    COO, Houseworth Hotels

  • Lisa John-Adams

    Director of Quality Control, Nucor Steel

  • Cybelle Jones

    CEO, Society for Experiential Graphic Design

  • Katie Thomason, APRN

    Owner/CEO, Blurred Lines

NCWC Advisory Board

  • Christian F. Ostermann, PhD

    Co-chair, Director, History and Public Policy Program, Wilson Center, Washington, DC

  • Jillian Hartley, PhD

    Co-chair, Professor of History and Political Science Arkansas Northeastern College

  • Col. Robert Certain

    USAF ret., B-52 Navigator, POW

  • Gen. Wesley K. Clark

    US Army ret., Former NATO Allied Supreme Commander

  • Governor Asa Hutchinson

    Former 46th Governor of Arkansas

  • William R. Ferris, PhD

    Former Chair, National Endowment for the Humanities

  • Jonna Mendez

    Former Chief of Disguise, CIA

  • Pamela Nelson

    Artist, Former Presidential Appointee, US Commission of Fine Arts, Washington, D.C.

  • Edward Salo, PhD

    Assoc. Director of Heritage Studies and Assoc. Professor of History, Arkansas State University

  • Orson C. Weems

    Co-founder, The Music Education Initiative

Get Involved

Contribute to the progress on The National Cold War Center. With a donation, you will join our mailing list to stay up-to-date on the latest momentum and progress of The Center.

Donate Now

  • Pilot